• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Fluid Capacity and weight oil for AX-15

75-90W GL3 oil. The GL3 part is important. Apparently some people have had GL5 rated oil eat the syncros.

AX15 Capacity is 3.7 quarts.

Previous post about GL3 is true, but I would add that GL4 is also acceptable.

Example: Redline's synthetic MT-90 is rated GL4 because of it's superior synthetic qualities. However, it has none of the harsh sulfur-based additives that many oils use to get the GL5 rating.

The AX15 has brass synchro gears, which are corroded by the sulfur additives in GL5 oils. If you run oils with the sulfur additives, you will reduce the lifespan of your synchro gears by about 50%.

I installed the Redline MT-90, and I'm extremely happy with the shifting now -- even in cold weather.

I'm an XJ Noob, so please patonize the questions;

The Haynes Manual (84-00), specifically recommends GL-5 fluid for the Manual Tranny, which it doesn't specify which manual tranny, just manual tranny. I also wouldn't trust the Haynes, well far less than I can throw it, because I can throw it far and often do (I'm still waiting to find a cheap FSM on E-Bay).

On RedLine Oil's website they say about their own GL-5 fluid 75W90NS;
RedLine Oil said:
This GL-5-type geal oil doesn't contain the friction modifiers for limited-slip hypoid differentials. This makes the transmission synchronizers come to equal speeds more quickly, allowing faster shifting and much easier low-temperature shifting. Can also be used in racing limited-slip differentials where weak spring design causes too much wheel spin.

Would using MT-90 be a little tough on the synchros, since it has friction modifiers that synchros do NOT need, and let them slip longer than designed during shifting? This is all assuming that GL-5 is the actual recommended fluid.