• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Comanche clutch problem

partsxj

NAXJA Forum User
I am new to this. I have searched the forums for this problem but I have not seen this. I had to replace my trans, the BA10. I also replaced the internal slave cylinder, hose, and master cylinder. I bleed the clutch, it works fine for a while then it's gone. The pedal grabs right off the floor and it is difficult to put into gear. Pumping the cylinder gets it into gear, barely. This is supposed to be my commuter Jeep, but now it sits in the driveway. Should I start over replacing cylinders? Any help would be helpful. I hope I didn't miss the answer for this somewhere on these forums. This Jeep needs to be driven. Thanks.

Sounds like for some reason air is getting back into there. I loosen the line and let the pressure off then use a bicycle pump on the master cyl lid to force fluid/air out.

I had a 89 XJ with the BA210. The clutch line going to the internal slave had rubbed against the bellhousing, and developed a pin hole leak. Eventually got worse, and had to have the line replaced.

Your symptoms sound familiar.

Erik

Make sure you are not losing fluid from the system. If you are, check the line from master to slave cylinder and the fixtures for leaks, then both cylinders. If there is no fluid loss, bleed the system thouroughly with a helper on the pedal and someone at the bleeder nipple. Sure you put the clutch pedal assembly back together right?