• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

cigarette lighter

91Limited

NAXJA Forum User
alright its a dumb question but im not good at wiring

im wiring my cb up and decided to wire it in the cigarette lighter...

out of the cigarette lighter are 3 wires- orange, purple, and black

which one is positive? negative?

can i just stick the 3(cb, 2 ends of the cut wire) wires in a wire nut and twist them all together?

thanks

You might want to work on asking questions as well...

Especially for anything electrical, you'll want to give with the year at least - wiring changes every couple years, and my manuals may be wrong (but someone else's will.) They won't know it until they know what year (at least) your rig is...

5-90

there should be one that goes to the light, one that goes to the center of the lighter, and one that goes to the housing of the lighter. The center post of the lighter is 12V, the one attached to the housing is ground. Use a multimeter set to continuity test to figure them out if you can't tell visually. Last I had mine apart it was easy to tell
As far as twisting the wires together...don't.
Either solder them, or get some quick splices at the auto parts store of your choice. Twisted wires will not give you a good contact reliably.

if you tie in to the lighter power you will get background engine noise. is that an issue with needing better grounds?

Depends on what you're powering. If it's a relatively insensitive load, a little alternator hum isn't going to harm anything. If it's designed to be powered by automotive sources, then it's probably designed to tolerate alternator hum and ignition whine.