• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

2.5L running VERY rough

OffRoadOhio

NAXJA Forum User
Just brought an 86 with 2.5L home. It takes forever for it to start, gotta hold it full throttle to even fire, once running it cuts and pops back through the throttle body, after it warms up it clears out a little, and will idle but it has absolutely no power and if you put it ingear without holding it to the floor it dies. I pulled the plugs and they appeared burnt, replaced them and it helped a little but not much at all.

I'm pretty new to cherokee's and totaly new to 2.5L's. If it matters it has an auto with command trac 4x4.

this old girl probably has a cluster of problems, and picking out a main cause is not easy, based on descriptions alone.

But if she's backfiring, has no power, and hard starts, one plausible single cause/effect failure is an obstructed exhaust, which is usually due to a melted catalytic converter. Look for weak outflow from the tailpipe.

Another possibility is a slipped timing chain.

Timing chain doesn't go too often on these, but a weak fuel pump will give you these issues. Clogged fuel filter or bad gas too! (add some Lucas injector cleaner with octane boost) Maybe it has some diesel in it? Dist cap condition?
There is so many other issues, but these are where I start. The trans could have a bad converter issue too if it's a lockup. (mine would jam and stall the motor once I got off idle)

PS: Are you sure it's Renix TBI and not a carb? '86 was a mixed year. If carb, then the feedback system may be screwed up (do the nutter bypass!)

Its the TBI. But there is no air breather box present, I know in my 94 Mazda it owuldnt run with out it hooked up properly, could this be an issue with the 2.5L?