• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Opinions on Fox Shocks?

01_XJ

NAXJA Forum User
i don't really see a lot of you running the Fox shocks on here. i read the review on Pirate 4x4 about one of the guys running those front and rear. I was wondering how hard of a job is it to convert to this type of suspension. it seems as though the cost of 4 of these shocks would be comparable to a decent lift. these apparently allow for up to 8 inches of lift.

I really haven't done that much reading up on these, but want to know if this is a good option for my XJ. i don't even know if these types of shocks are compatible with the XJ's. I am still new to the world of 4x4, well kind of, so be easy on me, my expertise is Hondas. yea flame all you want, go ahead.

thanks guys.

Last edited:
you still have to buy a lift dude

mn_xj said:
you still have to buy a lift dude
the ones i was looking at apparently act as a spring also. they use the oil and the compressed nitrogen. as i understood it, and i may be wrong, but when the shock compresses, the nitrogen is compressed into the oil and the pressure causes it to push back, acting as a spring. the guy said that the shocks basically take the place of the springs also. If i'm wrong then let me know.

this is how BillaVista, who wrote the article on pirate 4x4 put it, "The Airshox are both a high quality, rebuildable, re-valvable shock absorber and a means of suspending the vehicle in one package. That is, they are a "shock, and a "spring" in one. The shock portion works exactly the same as virtually any other rebuildable monotube shock absorber and so I will cover it only briefly before moving on to the "air spring" portion that makes the Airshox, Airshox!" he then goes on to explain the rest of it. here's the link: