• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

1990 and 1991 4.0l engine differances

JCW

NAXJA Forum User
The reason for this question is that I have a 1990 xj lerado and I'm looking at aftermarket headers and everyone I see for sale is for 91 and higher such as the banks. What is the differace

its not that I haven't seen ones out there for mine but I also see other companies out there listing ones for 91 and on and then ones for 90 and before as well as other parts. I'm new to jeeps and so I guess what my real questions are what are the differeances in the motors is there some sort of referance to swapping to a newer engine then what I have? Pros and cons sort of thing I'm trying to learn here thats all. If you can suggest info I can read then any help is appriciated. Sorry to sound like a dumbass I got the xj for 300 when I had no wheels and like so I want to learn

The engine went from basic 4.0L to High-Output 4.0L and the electrical/computer/etc systems were upgraded in 91. So, the sensors, vacuum lines and whatall in the intake are different. The intake and exhaust bolts up differently to the block also. So, there's kinda a big difference when purchasing parts.

The reason for the differece is 87-90 had an EGR (Exhaust Gas Recirculation) valve and the 91-up don't. There is a tube from the exhaust manifold to the intake manifold.

Mike R

Essentially correct.

In 1991, the EGR system was deleted in the ChryCo conversion. The cylinder head (#7120 instead of #2686) was modified as well - the intake ports were raised to give the airflow a straighter shot into the cylinder, but the exhaust ports were, as I recall, unmodified.