• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

new to the XJ community

g2z24

NAXJA Forum User
Hi all, This is my first post on here and I'm new to the XJ community as well! I have an 87 Cherokee Laredo with no mods as of yet.

Plans so far: 4.5 lift, 32"s, possible rear diff swap (gotta check to see what mine has first!) Bumpers, roof rack...

I wanna set it up for mainly offroad but still somewhat functional on paved roads as well.

Any suggestions would be nice!

Welcome. Your plan sounds like a good start. What I didn't see any mention of is skid plates and rock rails.

Hello and welcome :D

Couple pointers: blocks on stock springs are ussually very bad idea (ok blocks in general aren't that great idea). If you're using AAL's anywhere in your design, use long ones (shorties cause faster pack failure and sag).

Anyways, for 4.5" I'd recommend a new pack with longer shackle or just a longer pack altogether and for front, longer coils with spacer should work fine. You might want to look through the mod tech forum (btw, this should be on mod tech then oem, as that's where we discuss modifications :D) as just recently people where talking about different spring pack manufacturers.

When planning a lift, post all the components here and you will get a lot of feedback. DO make sure though to look through recent topics (a page or two of threads) to see if it wasn't just discussed as that would put a damper in the number of responses you get....