• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

where to start first...

jrfender1

NAXJA Forum User
I'm new to the 4X4 scene and just bought a '92 Cherokee Laredo. I plan to doing some off-roading in the future as well as normal, everyday driving of course. I was wondering where was a good place to start on modifications. Should I start with performance (intake, header, exhaust...) or start with suspension (lifts, wheels, tires...)? Are there certain brands of equipment I should consider? Any good shops in or around Raleigh, NC specific to 4X4's? How capable is a bone stock XJ off-road? I would appreciate any information and suggestions anyone has.

rock rails, skid plates 1st. then tires,lift, and axle upgrades. IMHO, but i may be wrong.

Skid plates a must, if you plan on doing alot of local stuff go see what you might come across and go from there.....no sense in buying something if it is not useable

come down to uhwarrie sat nite, your XJ will do fine there or if you want to you can ride with me. i only have 1" lift and 30X9.50's and unlocked.

Agree with armor and skids...then decide where ya want to go from there...

no sence doing +2"/30", then turn right around for +4-5"/32"

Same for gearing... decide where ya want to end up before halfstepping on expensive stuff like gears (& labor)

I feel that a mildly built XJ is a very capable vehicle...

Come on out to Uwharrie Saturday evening if you can.