• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

problem with front end

red90xj

NAXJA Forum User
hello im new here im just learning how to use this forum so if thers anything im doing wrong just let me know.

anyways i have a front end problem. it seems to be making a strange sound whenever i roll forward in drive. however while this is happening my foot is not on the gas or the brake i am just coasting... and then it stops when the jeep stops. the best way i can describe the sound is.. its like driving on fresh snow kind of a dry sound comming from the front wheels. my jeep is completely stock no mods what so ever "yet" and this seems to be the first problem ive had.being as i havent even takken it offroad yet i cant see it being anything to do with driveshafts etc. maybe a wheel alighnment? could this be caused by having the jeep in 4wd hi and cranking the wheel either direction and moving around slowly on gravel?. any comments/suggestions would be helpful thanks.

as much as im having trouble understanding what ur saying. check the u joints in the axle for play. make sure u have dif fluid, maybe grease up all the zerk fittings in the front end. check and make sure everything is tight. make sure u have dif fluid.

ah ok sounds like that might be a good idea. yea sorry bout being a little sloppy... beginner thing you know? haha. there are no leaks under the jeep what so ever... but it is going to be takken into the shop and have a full tune up. some friends of mine at the local high school can do everything for only the cost of fluids and materials. ill run it past them to check the diff fluids thanks alot anyone else got any suggestions?