• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Advise for a new XJ owner

Waxman

NAXJA Member # 1379
I just bought a 2001 XJ Sport. I have been trail riding Wranglers for several years but I am brand new to XJ's. I am planning on keeping the XJ as a daily driver but I would like to make some mods to it to increase it's capability as a camping / mild off roading vehicle. A few questions:
- What is the largest tire that fits without a lift or cutting? I guess a 30 x 9.50 x 15 will fit - If not, what does?
- What are some of the better lift kits on the market that will enable me to run 31's with out cutting?
- What is the street ride like on a lifted XJ?

Sorry for the rookie questions but, like I said, I'm new to XJ's. So far I love mine and want to keep it for a long time. Any help here will be appreciated.
Thanks.

Welcome to the XJ world and Welcome to :NAXJA:

The largest tire that can be fit stock would yes be 30 x 9.5 x 15, you can fit 31 x 9.5 x 15 with some trimming. As for the lift anything that advertises as a 3" lift kit will clear your 31 x 10.5 x 15. I run Rustys and am very happy with it. Others choose to run Rubicon Express and are also very happy with them. Ive heard bad things about the cheaper lifts like tough country but i guess some like them but if your concerned about street ride your only option is the Old man emu lift. They advertise a better than stock ride and they have a heavy duty version that will give you ~3 - 3.5 of lift and allow you to clear those tires. They are very pricy though but i havent heard one bad thing againced them (- the price). Other lift kits that claim 3" will give you around 4-5 after setteling and around 6 brand new.