• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Dakota/Durango rear leafs question: Please give definitive answers!

Nixt

NAXJA Forum User
OK, searching the forums got me some results, but not any clear answers.

I would like to get 4.5 to 5 inches of lift in my rear end. The 3.5" add-a-leafs I used originally are shot, and the ride always sucked anyways.
I have heard repeatedly that you can use Dakota AND/OR Durango springs from the scrapyard to do this.

Two requests:

1) Which spring packs from which models and years are suitable for this?

2) I'm new to suspension work, so I need a description of how to build the new XJ packs from the Dodge ones.

(My XJ is a '96, with 4" coil spring lift w/ longer lower control arms in the front, 3.5"AAL and 1.25" blocks in the rear.)

++Please only post what you know through direct experience or direct observation, not just what you've "heard".++

From my direct experience, I can tell you that building leaf springs is not an exact science, and is a trial and error deal. This is especially true since you're talking about using used springs. You can make a good working spring pack out of used leaves from a variety of vehicles......springs are springs, it doesn't make much difference what they come out of. While you're searching around for Dakota leaf info, do a general search on leaf springs and you should get some additional helpful information.

Sorry I couldn't give you more of an exact answer. :)

OK, when I got my dakota leaves i pulled them out of a 94' model, it looked like this

94dakota.jpg

Basically as long as its 2.5" wide and spring under, it is going to work.