• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

D44 Newbie ?

Saratoga

NAXJA Forum User
Yes I tried the search button first, but it did not really help me.

I have An 88 Cherokee 4 dr limited with 3.5 lift 31,10.5 15s and I want to upgrade to stronger axles so i can run bigger tires.
My problem is I'm no pro fabricator and want D44 front or rear which ever is easier, bolt in swap but have no idea what to get one outa.

If i can get some more info that would be great.
Mike

Some 87 and 88 XJ have d44 in the rear. Just start looking in the junk yard.

upgrade one axle to run bigger tires and leave the other alone?

Saratoga said:
Thats why Im a newbie. I figured I would have to do both after getting some Ideas.

It's a slight possibility that you may already have a D44 in the rear. It'll look like this if you do.

my44.jpg

When you say 'bigger tires', what do you have in mind? As long as you don't have a Dana 35 in the rear, you can probably run 33's or so with no problems. A D44 or a 29-spline 8.25 (found in 96+ XJs) will do 35s without much to worry about.