• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Problem Starting My 00 XJ --- Help / Opinions Please

Ghetto2315

NAXJA Forum User
Here is the situation... after I bought my 94 XJ as my DD, I rarely drive my 00 XJ anymore. I would basically drive her when I come home every 3-4 weeks just to get her blood flowing. I have been doing this for 2 months now and everytime I have started her up, she would fire-up without a problem

To make a long story short, I came home today and remote started her to get her warmed up since its cold out now. First attempt to start uncessful, so was the second and third attempts. Its cranking but it wont turn over. I finally get into the driver seat to turn her on manually and also by giving it some gas at the same time.

It finally starts, but not before I have to give it constant gas on the pedal to keep idling at around 1100 rpms. After 3 or 4 minutes, I can let go of the pedal and she can idle by herself without stalling out

I warm her up to 210 degrees and reverse out, but not before it stalls out on me again...

I start her back up, give it more gas and eventually make it on to the street where I can drive her. After 10 minutes of driving, she feels fine and everything looks / sounds normal.

4 hours later I go back out to start her up again, and it happens again...

What is going on? Is it my battery?? I've had the same factory battery since the day I bought her in 2000.

Also, I've been on the same tank of fuel for 2 months now... does fuel go bad? Maybe something with the fuel??

Thanks for the help!

Last edited: