• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Aquired D44 (rear) Now What?

aroncull

NAXJA Forum User
Ok so now that i have the axle, what are the things i am missing here?

It is a Dana 44 Open, with 3.55 gears and is complete end to end with ebrake cables out of an 87 cherokee. Has the u bolts and plates and shock mounts and you get the picture..

Going onto a
1997 XJ sport, replacing the D35.....

I am not a mechanic by anymeans, but bolt ons are easy and i am trying to step it up a bit here with the axle as far as the skill level goes....

1. Open the diff and make sure it looks good, no damage to the gears ect...
2. Replace the gear lubrication and see if the seals are all good.
3. Pull the drums and do the brake work, have the drums machined if necc, replace the shoes and check the cylinders..

(side note) I would Of course like to do the Disk brake conversion but i am hoping that having the drums machined and new pads would be alot cheaper then the conversion. then do the conv. later, along with gears... and locker$

4. use oven cleaner and sanding to clean and prep the axle.
then paint the crap out of it.

5. have buddy come and help and mount the axle.... whole other list of steps..

anyways bieng like i said NOT A MECHANIC... i thought it would be good to get some advice, tips, suggestions, and otherwise good brain food for the process from those of you who are mechanics or have done this before ect....

thanks

Aaron

Drives a jeep and is not a mechanic? That could get expensive!