• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Power Seats not working

G6SRE

NAXJA Forum User
Hi
New to this forum so apologies if this has been asked before
I have a 93 Cherokee LTD with power seats here in the UK . Up till recently they worked fine then they stopped working altogether. None of the motors work at all. I thought this would be a simple electrical fault as the whole system was affected. (I am an electrician) But when I checked out the circuit I have volts in all the right places from the circuit breaker under the dash all the way through the seat switches to the motor connector block. From my manual I see there is another breaker/fuse at each motor although I find it hard to believe all 6 would fail at the same time. So, any ideas on the fault and are the motors repairable if they are the prooblem.
Thanks Barry

Even if the voltage is o.k. at the seats, it does not necessarily mean that the connection is o.k. I have had the same issue: all voltages and connections seemed o.k., but the seats were as dead as a dodo.

Connect one seat directly to your battery and see if this makes any difference. It did in my case, so I simply drew a new wire from the fuse box to the seat.

Headache said:
Even if the voltage is o.k. at the seats, it does not necessarily mean that the connection is o.k. I have had the same issue: all voltages and connections seemed o.k., but the seats were as dead as a dodo.

Connect one seat directly to your battery and see if this makes any difference. It did in my case, so I simply drew a new wire from the fuse box to the seat.

Hi finally got to try your tip, ran a wire direct from the battery and everything works fine. Many thanks Headache
Best wishes for the New Year
Barry