• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

how hard is it to install gears?

big mike 27

NAXJA Forum User
i've got a hp d30 and a ch 8.25 rear and I need to regear.

I've got 31s with 3.07s and a 5spd, and it's a dog down low.

My buddy went to Wyotech, and I'm an expert backyard mechanic and we've got all the tools we'd need at our disposal, but neither of us have ever done gears before.

Is this doable ourselves? The local 4x4 shops want $200 an axle to do it.

It's certainly doable. Just keep in mind it is going to take a long while to get perfect your first time. I'd hit up Randy's ring and pinion website and find their gear manual. Learn it, live it, your diffs will be quiet.

The 8.25 has a collar on it to adjust the preload on the carrier. You will need a tool for it or fab your own up. Search for it here and hopefully you'll get some hits.

Install is easy, setting the gear backlash and pattern is tricky. Also pay attention to the ft/lbs of resistance on the pinion and set it to the same when reinstalling the new one. A torque wrench on the pinion nut (turning the rear axle) would be the easiest way.

This is a good set of instructions: http://www.differentials.com/install.html

This is a better set: http://www.randysringandpinion.com/downloads/yukoninstman.pdf