• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Am I eligible to regear?

St3mpy

NAXJA Forum User
Ok, basicly I'm asking if I would be able to do a regear for my Dana 30. I picked up a 8.8 w/ 3.73's, and I need to match the front. I'm restoring a 67' mustang, done all kinds of projects on my jeep (the 8.8, brakes, the lift, ect.),replaced the timing belt and waterpump on a 300zx, but I have no differential experience. I understand this is one of the most challenging projects in the automotive world. I'm already way over budget on my lift, so having someone do it isn't an option. How old were you when you did your first regear? Is the Dana 30 hard to work with? I have another car I can drive, and the Jeep has already been down for a couple of weeks, so time isn't a problem. So, your honest opinion, would I be able to pull this job off?

BTW: I'm 16.

Well.. yes and no. It really depends on if you think you can or not. I did my first diff at 16. It was in a 97' camero and it blew into so many pieces that nothing was good in the diff. Then at 19 I really researched and READ alot about technices on setting them up. Since then i have set up alot. Now I will be setting them up on a regular basis.

Read what info you can find, if you understand it, then do it! Remember that the front is a great place to start, because if it isnt perfect, you generally wont do damage. not to much high speeds (with power) and unless you are really rockin and rollin in 4x4 you should be ok.

Its all up to you. We cant judge that. Sorry!

Matt

take apart your old rear end and mess with it a few times...

im planning to do my own gears on my front end soon - though - my gears dont spin on the street and the d30 gears do...