• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

rough start/rattling

awglx

NAXJA Forum User
hey guys Im new here and Im new to jeeps and it so happens that my girlfriend has an 00' cherokee sport. She had an over heating incident caused by blockage from a ROTTED out water pump. Cyl#2 is missfiring causing the CEL light to appear. I changed the plugs and that helped a little but now it is rough starting. Any ideas? She also has a rattling noise coming from under the shifter on the driver side when it is stopped or parked. Thank you for any help.

im actually getting that same noise, i believe ive pinpointed it to being the flywheel\clutch inside the xfer case. im getting it serviced tommorrow at my 4x4 place in town.

Don't take this as gospel, but it seems like a mechanic friend was telling me recently that it is not uncommon for the flex-plate bolts to get loose on the automatics causing the noise you describe. I'll try to pick his brain on this asap.
-Louis-

Check the flex plate bolts, but there is either a recall or TSB for rattling transfer case shifter linkage.

Here is a good thread on JU about 00-01 enginem isfires adn rough running. http://www.jeepsunlimited.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=486652

Does it have problems starting 100% of the time or when teh engine is hot, or when it is cold?

-Chris

Definetly check out that JU thread. I think one of those TSB applies to her XJ. I'm considering getting mine flashed. A bit rough in the mornings too, but if I let it idle for 30 seconds before I drive it, all is good.

-Chris