• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

New Steering setup, need your help

Double Down

NAXJA Forum User
So there I was this weekend, putting on my RE drop brackets with a friend of mine who has been doing this stuff for a while...meaning wheeling and XJ's. So anyway, while we are doing this drop bracket stuff, he's the type of guy who has so much stuff (junk and extra parts) in his garage, it's crazy. I needed some adjustable uppers, so he had them, I needed grade 8 bolts and he had them all. Anyway, one of the things he had was a new steering setup, which included the tie rod and draglink combined, etc. I'm new to some of this so bear with me. Anyway, he said it was something he had kept around because he was going to put it on and changed to something else. Either way, it was in amazing shape and the only reason it came up at all was that I had a Monster tie rod that I was putting on and he suggested just upgrade the steering setup instead.

So we put that on and aligned everything the best we could. The Jeep itself felt and ran great but the only thing that is weird is that it takes more turning of the steering wheel before the wheels actually turn. The Jeep doesn't turn right away if that makes sense. He said it was because the rods have a little bit to turn before they grab (hope I'm saying that right) which is why. I'm sure that most of you know more about this than I do and since he is gone out of state for a while on job stuff, I thought I would get your opinions and helpful information on why this steering is better and if there is anything I can do about the extra steering.

The pics are the best ones I have of the new setup, so hopefully they all make sense.

Thanks in advance,

Chris

NewSteering.JPG

NewSteering1.JPG

NewSteering2.JPG

NewSteering3.JPG

NewSteering4.JPG