• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Swaybar disconnect

knowlt said:
What's the tool/method of choice for disconnecting the top swaybar connection?

Been a while since I took mine off but you should be able to get the top nut off with an open end wrench. I don't know if your year would be different but that is how mine is and mine is an 85. I took off my sway bar, brackets, and the connecting arms also. I only wheel with my jeep so I just took off my sway bar entirely. Not much difference on the road.

Kim.

I've been running without any sway bars for a few months now. some body roll on the road but not to bad once your used to it

jeepinandy said:
I've been running without any sway bars for a few months now. some body roll on the road but not to bad once your used to it
You get used to it till you have to evade suddendly something! I know there are a few here who have been driving around without swaybar in the front on the freeway, but in an emergency you'll regret not having it.

knowlt said:
What's the tool/method of choice for disconnecting the top swaybar connection?
If you wanna make a simple disconnect at home, remove the nut on the tup, put on a wingnut and then drill through the swaybar link to slide a cotter pin or something like that.

Kejtar said:
You get used to it till you have to evade suddendly something! I know there are a few here who have been driving around without swaybar in the front on the freeway, but in an emergency you'll regret not having it.
]

X10!

I agree here. Highway driving and no sway bar is risky but can be done. If your jeep is for both on and offroad uses than I would go with Kejtar on making your own disconnects.

Kim.

c2553133.jpg

Just use a ton of penetrating oil or you risk snapping off the stud at the top of the link.