• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

newbie here

Big Red Comanche

NAXJA Forum User
Hello everyone,
just checking in, found out about this web site from a friend of mine. My question is about do some rebuilding. I own a 2WD Comanche with the 4.0L and Standard 5 speed. What i want to do is convert it to a 4X4. Do i need to get a hole new tranny wit transfer case or can i bolt a transfer case up to the existing tranny? Second If i can just bolt the transfer case on does it matter if it comes off a automatic trans or not. I have wanted to do this since i have owned the truck just have not had that much to time to work on it. Next question, I currently have what i think is a 3" lift on it. Was on there when I bought it and the previous owner did not know. I am running 33x12.5x15 on the stock wagon wheel rims but it rubs a little on the front when in sharp turns at low speeds. It rubs on the (I do not know what is called) arm that goes from the body to the front axle. Is it advantageous to get a hole new lift kit or shoud i ust piece things togather to make this one work to eliminate the rubbing. And lastly I seem to b getting oil blowback into my air filter. I have replaced the PCV vallves and tubing but i still get it and sometimes ther is a strong oil smell in the cabin. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I hop to have fun in this forum and meet new people.
Eric

you will need the tail cone from a 4x4 as they are different