• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

empty dana 44 rebuild

chainbrain

NAXJA Forum User
hello everyone, i would like your help in a few matters. i have been working on cars for the last 10 yrs since my dad started putting wrenches into my hands, i have worked on almost all aspects of a vehicle. but there is only one area that i haven't had to work with yet. and now the time has come for me to do so. i have a 2000 xj sport and i am going to be getting a set of dana 44 axle shells totally empty, the rear is totally bare and the front is the same except with knuckles. i have heard alot of buzz words like pre-load and backlash and from the concequences i have heard from improperly setting both it scares me that if i screw this up i am gonna be wasting cash. well the reason that i am going to be doing this myself and not at a shop is that i am about to leave the military and right now cash is tight, i am not affraid to do it at all and i have almost all the tools i need but what i dont have is the step by step knowledge i need to do the job right. what i am thinking of is a set of 30 spline shafts all around and a detroit locker in the back and an auburn ected front locker. it should work pretty well provided i do it correctly, so if someone would please walk me through the assembly step by step i would greatly appreciate your help. thank you very much, chain.