• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

D44 Brake Line question

old_man

NAXJA Forum User
I'm finishing off a front D44 and the axle has a stock hard line running from side to side, with a single rubber line from the axle to the frame. Is there any reason I shouldn't keep the single line rather than do a seperate line at each side?

i really dont see any reason not to, but im no expert, hydrolics is hydrolics and fluid flow is fluid flow. no difference in flow with the two lines, the calipers take the same amount of fluid to move either way.

I don't intend this to be a yes or no answer because I don't know. I just want to bring up the fact that there may be a problem with fluid volume. Obviously, one line can't move as much fluid as two.
Let's say each line can only move 10cc of brake fluid per brake pedal stroke. By having one line supply both calipers you only get 5cc/caliper rather than the whole 10cc/caliper if you had separate lines coming off the MC.

Tom, it shouldn't be a big deal to switch it to two lines. You already have them on the frame, so it should be just a matter of adding rubber lines from the calipers. I'm with Brad, it's not just the brake pressure, it's the volume to move the caliper piston. Plus, your brake system is already set up for individual lines, so you'd have to change it to a single line.........you have to change something, might as well change the axle.

Yeah, but its different, and we all like to be different:laugh3: