• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Dana 44 axles (s)?

alvarez919

NAXJA Forum User
Hey i went to the junkyard today and i found two cherokees with 44's on them. I think the yard gets 100 bucks for them. What are some things I should be looking for. Should I pop the diff cover. Should i check for slop when turning the driveshaft? Also i know most xj's have the 35 and i know what that looks like. i;ve also looked at pics of the 8.25 chrysler. the axles on the jeeps look like 44's, but im new to all this and i can't imagine finding two in the junkyard my first time looking? I know some stamp the casing, but i saw no stamps on these cherokees. They are from a 87 and 88. the 88 was called a cherokee sunhawk. and the 88 had many leaf springs and a hitch type thing up front, which sounds like the tow package. Does anyone know anything about the sunhawk? What did the tow package consist of?
thanks guys
david

for some reason on that page they have the D44 and D60 pics rotated. They should be turned 90 degrees CCW.

If you found two I guess you are lucky. I have looked under every XJ and MJ in a 100 mile radius in salvage yards with nothing but D35s....