• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

new cherokee want to lift it but not sure what to go with

$100cherokee

NAXJA Forum User
I just got an 87 cherokee for $100 you all may laugh but its great. It needs a rear main seal and some light bulbs other than tha ti runs and drives great. I'll have pics later. I was wondering if anyone might recommend a lift kit for me. I want something that will ride nice on road and preform off-road. Looking for about 4.5" so i can get bigger tires at some point.

Are jeep lift kits easy to install? I have done one on a ford bronco argggggg!! pain in the butt. Is it easier than that?

second how do I tell what rear end I have? I am new to jeeps.

any help would be great.

thanks

first recommendation would be to learn to drive it and realize what you're doing with it. Even in stock form the XJ is plenty capable. Then put an RE lift on it.

Search is your friend around here; you'll find that many of your questions have been asked a few times; some of them come up weekly. Lifts are relatively easy and get proportionally worse the more rust you have underneath. I've got writeups on my site as do most of us around here. Expect to increase the value of your XJ 10 or 20 times with a 4.5" lift, gears and tires.

Welcome to NAXJA - with the 87 you should have either a Dana35 or a Dana 44 rear axle. Hope for the 44. Pics of both are at http://www.yuccaman.com/jeep/gear1.html#axle

Awesome score!! If you want to maintain the "got it 4 cheap" mantra, then scrounge, scrounge, scrounge.