• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

No dash lights....what to do?

NTeagle83

NAXJA Forum User
Hi everyone. I'm new to this page, but not new to the XJ. Just need a little help. I've had my 95 for almost three years now, and ever since I got it, the rear wiper switch only lit up sometimes. Then about six months ago, the A/C panel backlight went out. Then this week, the gauge cluster lights completely stopped working. No bulbs are burnt, and I've searched the archives to try to see if this has been covered, but none of the suggestions worked. My tail lights are still in order, and there is no burnt fuse anywhere. I've had the dash off and even changed the switch for the lights. No grounded hotwires, and the lighting ground wire for the switch was in tact. I've looked at the wiring schematics, but it's kinda Greek, and like I said, the wires are all beautiful. If anyone has some help for the "newbie," it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Rhett in Denton, TX

check the dimmer switch...

You could do what I did...go to Wal-Mart, get a book light with a telescoping light and a clip and attach it to the dash. Then flip it on when you drive at night.

Other than that I have no solution as I couldn't figure out mine either.

Mine ended up being a loose wire behind the fusebox, for the 5A dash light fuse. I didn't "find" it until one dark evening when I was wiggling the fuse in the driveway...and saw little blue flashes (arcs) coming from behind the box.
You could also try swapping the light switch out, or pulling the connector off the top of it and putting 12V to the orange/black tracer wire to see if the lights work. If yes, then you know the switch is bad. FYI, the terminal for that wire/circuit is the slanted / one on the top of the switch, all the others are straight |
HTH,
Jeff