• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Help with lifting a 92 XJ

kofeebrat

NAXJA Forum User
I'm kinda new to this whole Jeep thing and thought I'd seek some advice before I jumped in. I just picked up a 92 XJ, 4.0L manual, and was looking at making a DD/wheeler outta it. I want to run 33's on the stock wheels, and can't really spend a whole lot. What I wanna know is ..

1. How much lift do I need?
2. What does everyone mean by "minor trimming" ??
3. What brand of lift does everyone suggest, keep in mind the budget .. /grin!

I'm not a novice at building off roaders at all, just sold my '79 full size Chev to make room for the "family truckster" (wife already named it).

Thanks in advance!

1, 2. 33s on stock wheels is not a good combo. Stock backspacing is 5.25" but you need something closer to 4" BS instead. Lfting the Jeep enough to fit 33s isn't a cheap combo either; you can expect to spend a goodly amount of money for 5.5" lift, rims, tires, axles, driveshaft, SYE, etc... If you have a D35 rear it's definitely ripe for an upgrade. You need to regear both axles, 4.56 is a good recommendation there, and you might want to save some money on labor to throw a locker in while the axles are getting regeared.

3. 2" Rubicon Express Budget Boost with long AALs; 30" tires and it's a good daily driver/offroad combo for a low price. If you decide to budget for a bigger lift, RE is still definitely a way to go.

Last edited:
Took a look at the RE 2" kit, what about the 3.5" Super-Flex w/31's, any troubles there (SYE needed etc) ?? I'm really looking to go bigger than 30's right away as I know I won't be happy with em at all. I tend to spend more time on rocks/logs than on dunes and what-not and would like a little more ground clearance.

Thanks again

flex.jpg