• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Need oppinions on more power for the 2.5L

RJJR

NAXJA Forum User
I have a 96' with a 3 inch skyjacker lift and 31" mickey thompson claws. It has the 2.5L w/ 5 speed. Chrysler 8.25 and the stock 4.10's. Its got 180K miles, and runs smoothly, and doesnt burn oil.

My problem is that he jeep is extremely slow and has no guts at all. Ive searched and there is little to no information pertaining to enhancing performance of the little 4 banger.

I have a flowmaster 40 series muffer, and other than that, the driveline is stock.

I just need oppinions and info on other parts that can boost my performance other than regearing, since I already know i need to do this.

Ignition maybe, air intake, 4.0L throttle body, cam regrind, ect.

Id appreciate any helpful information.

While you said you do know you need to regear none of the improments are gonna make a damn bit of difference with a 2.5 UNTIL you regear the 4.0 is a bit more forgiving as the torque curve is flatter but the 2.5 just hurts until you put it back where it supposed to be...All of those will help each in little amounts but you wont notice most of them until you regear....
luck
themud

I always thought my MJ had enough power to get by with the 2.5, until I got a 97 XJ for a work vehicle. The 4.0 is soooo much faster, more power, everything. But if you don't want to do the swap, check out the heavier flywheel. Will help the 2.5 chug along and have less rpm drop during shifts.
Nate

BrettM said:
regear
regear
regear

ditto, gearing will do more than anything else

then see if you need more power. any intake, exhaust, cam type stuff you do will only net small gains, it would probably be better to just swap a 4.0.