• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Suspention Upgrade Confusion!!??

BIG-G

NAXJA Forum User
OK, im new here (just registered) and also semi new to the XJ world (4 months or so) but NOT new to soupin the balls outta what i drive!! OK, question for everyone is (opinions welcome), i have a 95 XJ sport with 3" or 4" blocks & 325/60/15 bfgoodrich a/t (30" by 12.5") and trailmaster steering stablizers & i gotta bit of a sag in the rear. Now my options are on a budjet but my mind is on crushin rocks and the jeeps mind is on "HEY IM A DAILY DRIVER", so with my mechanic, this board and myself ive thrown in some ideas, re-arching the springs but XJ's come stock with flat leafs, Add A Leafs with a possibility of revolving shackles (teraflex), or the whole new leaf packadge.
OK, what i want obviously in time is a properly RAIZED jeep with weekend trail capability with NO worries of death wabbles during the week & i DONT want a stiff ride, i wanna softer ride actually, so some longer range "softride" shocks will be in the future. Now i got $5 bucks so what would you guys do?? Would u build it piece by piece and get AAL's, then shackles, then shocks & bump stops, then brake lines, then diconnects eventually leading into a lift susp kit???? OMG my mind is swolen,, HELP!!???

Present option/thought.......Full length AAL's w/a 2" lift, revolving shackles, remove rear sway bar. That should cover the sag and add rear flex!! Next would be the shocks and brake lines. Whatcha guys think??????=

Definatly toss the huge rear blocks, that in itself will help out your harsh ride. I would reccomend "building up" your leafpacks using Dodge dakota or Chevy s-10 rear packs (do a search, you'll find lots of good info, some of it mine) Toss the rear sway...its worthless. Go DTX shocks. (also search)