• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

clicking valves?

ajporter03

NAXJA Forum User
I am new to this, so I hope that I will get all of the information that you guys need to help me out. I just bought a 1993 xj 4.0 auto with 122,000 on the clock. I changed the oil a couple of days ago and I put in Valvoine 's "Max Life" The stuff for motors over 75,000 miles. I now get this clicking noise near the top of the motor. It sounds to me like one of the valves. But it comes and goes. It starts out quite and gets progressivly louder, and then it will just quit and sound normal for a few minutes. Then it comes back. Any Ideas? Also, when I changed the oil, the dipstick showed that I was half way into the hash marks. Now I am almost to the add line and I have only driven 100 miles. Before I changed the oil, it was pretty low. But I don't burn any oil. No blue smoke. But aside from all of this, the motor runs great and strong. If anybody has any ideas, I would appreciate it.

Thanks

If I'm not mistaken, the valves are self-adjusting. It may be sticky lifters or your injectors are dirty. I have the same problem, I plan on Seafoaming the crankcase 100 miles before my next oil change.

The noise you are describing is the valve lifters. If the oil level has gone down since you changed and was low before changing, it's using oil. Nothing to get all upset about, but it is using oil. Just keep it full. The engine is worn, but as long as you keep oil in it, it should run a long time. Replacing the lifter on a 4.0 involves removing the head, so you can go from there if you want to just run it or fix it now.

ajporter03 said:
Wouldn't a drity injector make the motor run funny? And what could I do to fix the sticking lifter?