• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

MJ lift question

HotDog!

NAXJA Forum User
I'm picking up a Comanche in a couple of weeks and i'm going to start building it up a bit. I've been looking into the best way to lift it, and as I have no experience with MJ's or XJ's i had a couple questions.

I keep hearing that the best way to lift it is a spring over in the rear and a 4.5" lift up front. Is there another way somebody would recommend? and if I went the route of the rear spring over, how much lift is that going to give me overall and what size tires can you run on it?

Spring over is the most economical way to do the rear because it doesn't require replacing the springs. Your net lift will range from 4-6" depending on the health and stiffness of the springs, thickness of the new spring perches, etc.

As far as lifting the front end to match, the world is your oyster. You could do short arms, drop brackets, long arms, leaf springs, etc. Anything you can do to an XJ will fit a MJ.

You'll have room to fit 33's easily, larger if you decide to trim the fenders. Enjoy!

Well, to figure exactly how much the back will come up, measure from the axletube to the center of the leafspring and double it.

Lift the front to suit...

Robert

Alright so lets say I do the SOA in the rear. What parts do I need for the lift in the front? Obviously it's not a full kit. What all do i need to get besides coils?

well figure 6" of lift. Your going to need new upper and lower control arms. Long OR short. Track Bar, steering, maybe a DS. Sway bar links, bumpstops, brakelines, shocks. Should also do gears as well. SO.. its not super simple.

Matt

lower control arm drop brackets wont work..... without mods. mj's have reinforced lower control arm mounts.