• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

recovery stuff

spazegun2213

NAXJA Forum User
ok, so I have been spending too much money/time on my engine and i realize that winterfest is like a month away!! So, seeing as how my jeep is bone stock I need to ask about recovery points. I know this has been asked a TON of times. I have searched them and have read them, but i would like some clairification, becuase I'm new to all this and I'm stupid ;)

1. what kind of strap do i need, like what ends should it have?
2. I have seen people use the little circular supports to either side of the hitch to anchor an chain to. Is that safe? I have a ball hitch (that I'm planning to mount the flag too) is there a D ring that i can sub in for the ball?
3. I'm pretty sure that the front of my jeep has no hooks, so what is an affective recovery point? I have read the axle, but is there a better place?

Sorry if any of this sounds retarted, but my extent to wheelin is the off the beaten path, but not THAT far off the path.

Thanks!
-Spaze

spazegun2213 said:
ok, so I have been spending too much money/time on my engine and i realize that winterfest is like a month away!! So, seeing as how my jeep is bone stock I need to ask about recovery points. I know this has been asked a TON of times. I have searched them and have read them, but i would like some clairification, becuase I'm new to all this and I'm stupid ;)

1. what kind of strap do i need, like what ends should it have?

Get two (a 50 and a 25), at least 20K pound, no metal. 25 can double as a tree saver.

2. I have seen people use the little circular supports to either side of the hitch to anchor an chain to. Is that safe? I have a ball hitch (that I'm planning to mount the flag too) is there a D ring that i can sub in for the ball?