• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

D44 or other?

94XJ4x4

NAXJA Forum User
Im thinking about swaping my rear axle with a dana 44 or 8.8 this summer in anticipation of larger tires in the future (35's). I was wondering if there was a better option or which one you would chose? Any suggestions? I was thinking of going to try to find a 44 off of an XJ so it will just bolt on easy. But some people say the 8.8 is better. And I'm just a rookie so any info would be great. Thanks.

-Tim

8.8 will be cheaper. like $250 for a newer one. a 44 is $300-$350 for a rough one

8.8 is 31 spline, 44 30 spl
8.8 ring gear is bigger
8.8 has discs
44 is semi floating, 8.8 is c-clip

really XJ brackets are pretty easy though, 2 spring perches and 2 shock mounts

some 8.8's are like 27 spline (mustang and rangers i think) you want one out of an exploder or mountaineer

Im going to get the axle out of one of the "junk" yards around here no matter what it is. how will i know it's an 8.8? and what year explorer do i look for?

just thought of something else.... i havnt looked into the 8.8 to much i just know what you just told me basicaly. is width the same and what about bolt patern?

With is like 5/8" less per side but nothing to really worry about as long as your wheels are already offset but some people run spacers. The bolt pattern on 8.8 out of explorers is the same as XJs. Also I think all the rear axles out of explorers are 8.8s with the main difference being like 96ish? Don't know on the specific year but they switched to discs in the rear, which would be much nicer.

If it's under an explorer, it will be an 8.8. The only thing you'd have to worry about is spline count, which isn't the same for every explorer. Just don't go looking under a ranger or a mustang, and you'll be ok.