• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

d44 vs 8.25" what should i do?

robbieyukon

NAXJA Forum User
ok lets hear everyones thoughts on each rearend. which is the better unit for wheeling 35"s on a 4.0 non-HO on easy-moderate trails? i will say that i can get a 8.25 for $50 but i have seen that gears/lockers are really a lot of $$$$. thanks.

the 8.25 will hold up, but there are also perks to the 44. such as no c-clips and it can be geared lower, parts are also cheaper. i have an 8.25 locked up w/33's and so far so good. i am easy on it and carry spares. if you can find a 44 cheap enough i would get it instead

I'm not an expert by any means, but from what I've read here and elsewhere the 44 is only marginally better (re: stonger) than the 8.25. On the other hand the upgrade options for the 44 are extensive, the 8.25 is limited to a few manufacturers. I've yet to see a selectable locker (other than ARB or OX) for the 8.25. You can get just about anything for the 44, Auburn Ected, Eaton E-locker, etc. You can also stuff lower gears (numerically higher) into a 44, I believe the 8.25 is limited to 4.56.

yep 4.56 is the loweset. oh a plus of the 8.25 is the diff is ceneterd so one shaft works for both

Frank Z said:
I'm not an expert by any means, but from what I've read here and elsewhere the 44 is only marginally better (re: stonger) than the 8.25. On the other hand the upgrade options for the 44 are extensive, the 8.25 is limited to a few manufacturers. I've yet to see a selectable locker (other than ARB or OX) for the 8.25. You can get just about anything for the 44, Auburn Ected, Eaton E-locker, etc. You can also stuff lower gears (numerically higher) into a 44, I believe the 8.25 is limited to 4.56.
You can get a Detroit locker for the 8.25.