• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Brake size???

Nick

NAXJA Member #690
Does anyone know what size drum brakes were used on the 1996 classic with a chrysler 8.25? I've never done a set of rear brakes before is it difficult? What are some expected problems I may run into? Should I just take it to a shop?

Not sure of the size. Maybe someone with that rearend can chime in.

While they are more of a pain than the front, they certainly aren't difficult in my opinion. Do one side at a time. Use the other side as a reference. Take a digital photo if you have to. That way you know how the parts are assembled.

Letting a shop do it will be costly.

My mechanic friends hate doing them. But I find them kinda "interesting".

A generic repair manual should be of some help. You can buy all the springs and hardware for around $10 (each side) at a parts store. They come in a kit. I would recommend replacing all those with new.

The only major problem you may encounter is the drum not wanting to come off easily. Do a search and you will find suggestions for that problem.

Good luck to you.

9" x 2.5"

The only real problem you'll likely encounter is that the drums may be slightly out-of-round and/or have a ridge on the inner lip of the braking surface. You should take the drums to a shop to have them trued up on a brake lathe.

If you have the time and apptitude do them yourself.

Take the drums to a shop to see if they need to be turned.
Napa has a parts kit that has new spring, clips, etc. that covers both sides.
Bring the old shoes with you so you don't have to pay a core charge.
Take a picture or have a FSM so you know how everything goes back together.

Harwood,