• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

trac-lok equipped? and a strange noise, too

krakhedd

NAXJA Forum User
Hi guys,

I'm new to NAXJA, on the advice of somebody who said people over here actually know what they're talking about, and there's not so much arguing and quiveling (as compared to Jeeps Unlimited).

That being said, my 2 questions are as follows:

I want to know if I have trac-lok equipped on my 2001. I got its VIN, called Crap-PAR, and they said they don't know (which is total BS). Then the guy in service transferred me to parts, thinking they could answer my question based upon info from the axle. Turns out they, too, use the VIN, and they could not help me. I asked this 2nd guy if trac-lok and posi are the same, he said yes. I said so when my Jeep's on a lift, if I spin one tire forward, and the other one goes backwards, that means it's an open diff, right? He said no, posi will do that also. This is completely contrary to what I've understood since I was a very young kid, when one of my brothers first explained posi to me. Also, it seems contrary to the operation of a posi.

I did look on the sticker on my axle, located just inside the right-rear drum assembly. It was torn and dirty (I got into some mud this weekend!), but I could clearly make out the words "open diff". It may have had something before it, though, such as the word "not", that I couldn't make out. I'm assuming this means it's indeed an open diff - I guess it would say "trac-lok" if it were so equipped? By the way, it's a Chrysler 8.25", and the last 8 digits of the VIN are 1L558081.