• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Brand new and have a problem

xjrrrdx

NAXJA Forum User
Well i am brand new to NAXJA and it looks like i can get a lot of answers. I have a 96 XJ Classic with 140k on the engine. Its all stock but today I had some very frightening problems.

I was getting of the interstate by coasting at about 40-50mph when all of a sudden I hit a dip and next thing i know the jeep shakes like it is going to fall apart.

SO this is a new problem I found today as well. So I slowed down and it went away. I went to a parking lot and made sure it didnt slip out 2wd. So I put it in 4hi and went forward with no issues, but as soon as turned the wheel i heard this binding and rubbing noise and the wheel started jerking in my hands, so i put the wheel straight and the wheel stops jerking but the rubbing/binding is still there. It only goes away when I put it in 2wd. Go easy on me i am a rookie haha.

Thanks for all the help!

Last edited:
xjrrrdx said:
Well i am brand new to NAXJA and it looks like i can get a lot of answers. I have a 96 XJ Classic with 140k on the engine. Its all stock but today I had some very frightening problems.
Ehhh...it's just getting broken in at that age.
I was getting of the interstate by coasting at about 40-50mph when all of a sudden I hit a dip and next thing i know the jeep shakes like it is going to fall apart.
Got a lift? If so, how much, and tell me about the trackbar. This sounds like it could be Death Wobble, so we're going to recommend the usual suspects of alignment, wheel balance, inflation, loose or worn trackbar mounts or steering components.