• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Lots of Trimming with Stock '97+ Flares

BrianJr

NAXJA Forum User
I have been running flareless for a few months and don't like it. So I was looking at ways to add flares again. As I have the stock flares I've been considering how to use those.

I had trimmed away the holes for the original brackets. I talked with a guy at a body shop and he suggested using 3M trim adhessive to attach the flares. I didn't think it would work but after a few weeks with one of the flares glued on as a test it looks like it will. Have any of you used this stuff to hold flares on for any length of time?

The stock flares are quite a bit above the seam that runs around the wheel wells. It seems that I could trim a lot more metal if I ran this type of setup. So it looks like I could get rid of some bumpstop height too. I am not eager to cut my fenders above the seam for the flares without knowing if anyone else has used this 3M adhessive successfully.

Anyway, just curious if anyone here had tried this

Thanks,
-Brian

We trimmed my brother's 97 and used 3M tape to hold the flares back on. We found that it had a hard time sticking to the flares, so we used a staple gun to attach the tape to the flares. We also ended up using two layers to fill the gap b/w the flare mounting surface and the body. In order to keep dirt from getting on the tape, we shot a little great stuff right where the flares mount to the body. Finally, for the small gap still left in between the flares and body on the outside, we put some black silicone...this ended up looking real good. It's been a few months w/ a few wheeling trips and they've held up great. You can yank on them and all it does is pull the fender out. However, they probably won't fare very well against a tree or rock...we'll see....

2.jpg