• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

coasting downhill issues???

taki1203

NAXJA Forum User
sorry if this issue has been addressed previously. i'm new to the jeep scene, just bought a 99 cherokee sport (bone stock). recently while coasting down a large paved road i noticed that the tachometer would jump to about 1500 rpm then drop to about 900 rpm (and repeat over and over). on level pavement everything seems fine.

1) what causes this?
2) is this a big issue?
3) what the heck can i do to fix the prob?

thanks ahead of time, i've been reading posts for a little while now and everyone seems pretty knowledgeable and helpful.

oh ya, 99 cherokee sport, AW4 auto, about 82,000 miles, stock everything else.

Sounds like the Torque Converter locking and unlocking. If you're only doing 1500 PRM my guess is that you're in too high a gear for the speed you're travelling. I'm guessing you're doing about 40mph in OD? Drop it down to Third around town and save your tranny.

by my response, you can probably tell that i have no real idea how my jeep works (sorry im trying to learn).

my tranny is an automatic and im pretty sure that my jeep lacks over drive.
i'll check the speed nextime i head down the hill (on my way to work and school).

thanks

Yeah, you've got OD if it's an AW-4, and it will be an AW-4 in the Cherokee. Your gear selector is as follows:
P
R
N
(D) - this is Overdrive, and I bet the gear you automatically put the Jeep in
1-2