• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Grade 5 or 8 bolts for hitch?

Just spent a good part of the afternoon reading up on bolts, grades and strength considerations. I am by no means an expert in this area, but I think I would go with grade 8 for the hitch and for the metric nut strips at least an 8.8, but better yet with a 10.9 if possible. Check this out.
Brent.

grade 8 at least. higher tensile means a tougher bolt in most cases. an 8 will break where something like a 5 would tend to stretch rather than just break...but a 5 has a lower tensile. tensile is the force applied to a material by pulling it apart (other forces include; shear, compression, torque and impact...)
kinda like bubble gum a lower grade tends to be more plastic, but if you were to "treat" a lower grade to make it stronger, and in this case harder, it would be akin to putting the gum in the freezer making it harder to chew.
do some research into who made the bolts and the process, because in my limited experience not all 8's are created equally. IMHO