• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

D44 bearing Q`s?

Ed in North Ga.

NAXJA Forum User
thought I`d drop this:

found out my rear driver side seal is bad on my MJ- then I discovered I had the dana44...of coarse, Ive been saveing dana35 parts for "repairs" for 6 years now...wasted time. :rattle:
Anyway, thought I`d stop by the local mechanic for a quicky price quote on seal/bearing replacement on my 44. Shaft pull x2, bearing x2 ,seal x 2....

$280.00

insert laughter here....I did. :laugh3:

Since Ive decided to do it myself this time (jeep only charged $70 a side last time-circa 1991 on a 35c)- Ive priced bearings and seals- I found I only need one seal per side? no inner seal to deal with?
And no one yet knows what a bearing collar is....guess i`ll have to pull(cut) one and show it to the partsboy.

quicky question- once all these parts are correctly aligned, does the bearing bottom out on *something* at the shaft end, or do I need a measurement from brake backplate to bearing face?
and whats a good pipe size for hammering down the parts-- ie: diameter of dana44 shaft/ metal pipe to go over it.

i bet PVC wont work...been saveing that too. way to much junk here....

opinions appreciated.
Ed->

The outer wheel bearings are sold as a set 10 with seals. they have to be pulled off then pressed back on with the retainer. there is a stop on the shaft and when you slide the hole assembly back in ther is a stop in the axle also (no measureing needed) If you know sone one with a press it'll be quick but if you don't it should be .5 to 1 hour of labor to pull and press.
Did it last week real easy with right tools.