• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

High RPMs.....Aaaaaaaagggghhhhh!

Appleby

NAXJA Forum User
Hey Y'all.....

.....I'm a newbie to the site but have owned and been slowly fixing up/ restoring my '87 XJ Laredo with the 4.0 for two years.......I've had intermittent problems with stalling, startup and occasional high rpms at idle, but lately the problem is consistent.....I had a mechanic go through my fuel and electrical systems about two months ago and told me it appears that the signal from my ECU may be faulty, but that his diagnostic computer is unable to pinpoint why the signal for the idle circuit stays open so long and only closes occasionally.......I've replaced sensors and had the TPS adjusted more than once during different repair phases.......I was wondering if anyone else had or has an older XJ and gone through this same problem? Lately, after the engine is warm, when I start it, the idle revs up to about 3500 rpms and stays there until I turn the key off.....after a couple of tries it starts normally, does anyone think I should replace my ECU? If anyone has some feedback, I would sure appreciate it. Thanks.

Yeah, the TPS has been replaced......and the MAP sensor, and the idle speed stepper, and I'm tryin' to figure out if it's a computer issue.....PCM? ECU is suspect......need a reference.......

When you replaced the IAC, did you clean the passages in the throtte body which run to it as well as the seat where the point contacts the idle air circuit? That may be worth a shot.
Tony