• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Hissing while Braking?

azee

NAXJA Forum User
Hey Guys,

My '89 XJ hisses when i step on the brakes. Basically, it sounds like someone is exhaling when i step on the whoa pedal. Sounds like its coming from the area directly behind the firewall.

Could anyone give me some ideas on what to check, or what could be the culprit? Brake booster? I don't see any brake fluid leaking. I'm fairly new to the XJ world. I've already bled the brakes and it has helped bring the miserable braking performance to an decent level, but it still pales in comparison with my other cars (toyota and honda cars).

Any advice would be most appreciated! Thanks!

Alan

Here is how you check a power brake booster for proper function:

1. With the engine OFF, pump the brakes repeatedly. The pedal will get progressively harder. Once it gets no harder to pump, HOLD THE PEDAL DOWN firmly.
2. Start the engine while HOLDING pressure on the brake pedal.
3. If the power booster is functioning normally, the brake pedal will move further down as the engine starts, and manifold vacuum builds.

If the pedal does not behave as indicated in step 3, it's time for a new booster (they are not rebuildable.) The cheapest source would be a junkyard.

AZ Jeff said:
Here is how you check a power brake booster for proper function:

1. With the engine OFF, pump the brakes repeatedly. The pedal will get progressively harder. Once it gets no harder to pump, HOLD THE PEDAL DOWN firmly.
2. Start the engine while HOLDING pressure on the brake pedal.
3. If the power booster is functioning normally, the brake pedal will move further down as the engine starts, and manifold vacuum builds.