• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Gearing question

Cherokee91Red

NAXJA Forum User
I'm really new to gearing and have never done a re-gear before so its gonna be a lot of questions. I have the 8.25 rear and d30 front with 31" tires. The 3.55's are struggling around 45-50 which is where I spend most of my time. In about a year I plan on running 33's. I also do alot of trips to the mountains in the winter.
1. Should I try the 4.11's or 4.56's? or anything else you think is appropriate.
2. How hard is an install and what parts/tools do I need?
3. Where can I find the parts/gears?
4. What's the cheapest place I can find them at?
Also planned on a pair of lockers sometime soon, no money for ARB's. Whats the best plan for those.
-Thx

3.73 gears and 31x10.50R15 tires has EXACTLY the same final drive ration (speed-to-RPM) as stock tires and 3.55 gears. 4.10 strikes me as the "right" ratio for 31s, but if you plan to move up to 33s I would go to 4.56 gears.

I like Drive Train Direct as a supplier.

If you don't want (or can't afford) to go ARB, I suggest a Detroit Locker for the rear and a TrueTrac for the front. The TrueTrac is a gear-driven limited slip, so it won't muck up your steering on pavement. Technically, TrakTech only warrants it for up to 32" tires, but unless you are very heavy on the skinny pedal it should be fine with 33s.