• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

lift installation

Puckhead21

NAXJA Member #935
hey all, quick ?.

i wanted to know how hard it is to install a lift, i have some knowledge of automotive stuff. its not doing it that im leery of, its screwing it up that im worried about =]

PB blaster +time = bolts
wrenches and sockets + a BFH + elbow grease = DONE

actually i was lookin at it earlier this evening to see what axles i had (dana 35, which i hear is not too good for wheeling), and the rust wasnt real bad at all.

looks can be deceiving, but that's good that it's at least not real bad. Get a couple cans of PB Blaster and start soaking every suspension bolt twice a day for a week or two before you start. How big were you looking to go? what kits were you looking at? 3-4" and 31" tires is a GREAT starting point for an XJ and will not threaten the strength of you D35 much, and the gearing will still be decent. Hang around here for a while, do lots of reading and lots of searching.

Go to your local chapter and say you're having a lift party. There may be some people in your area who can help you.

It's a good way to meet people and get your Jeep lifted. You'll have to provide food and beverages, though.

Lookig at your profile, Seeing that your XJ is a '97. Shouldn't be all that hard.

I'm sure you read through my ordeal, but my XJ is a '91 with lots of Ontario Rust on it.

Use lot of BP Blaster, get yourself a breaker bar and peice of pipe.