• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

4 link rear suspension

TwiztedXJ

NAXJA Forum User
I recently bought my first XJ and have had a blast ever since.I converted from an auto to a manual and added a (semi homemade) 4 in. lift. I was wondering if anyone had specs or a diagram of how to build a 4 link rear suspension?I have done one four link on a fullsize ford that worked alot better than stock but without a real frame to bolt to i am slightly confused.could a partial frame be added to the xj's unibody?I am a good welder and ok fabricator,should i just wing it?help?

What most people do to add support to the "frame" is to weld 3x3 angle iron, or cut a side off of ?x? box tubing and slip that over the unibody rails. As for the 4-link, cant help ya, im an old-school leaf spring kinda guy :wierd:

go to pirate4x4.com and search for "god of suspensions" and "links for dummies" read each 4 times. Biuld your 4 link. Drive it for a month. Realize you screwed up, rebuild and be happy.

Four links are cool.

Leaf springs work really well on the rear of XJ's.

:)

I tried the "god of suspension thing with no results......i want some more flex from the rear,I have awesome spots to flex on my ranch.I was thinking about taking out a leaf from the spring packs.....it worked on a fullsize for me but i dont know the rate of the XJ's springs.Is this a feasable project?

TwiztedXJ said:
I tried the "god of suspension thing with no results......i want some more flex from the rear,I have awesome spots to flex on my ranch.I was thinking about taking out a leaf from the spring packs.....it worked on a fullsize for me but i dont know the rate of the XJ's springs.Is this a feasable project?