• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Who puts together the best long-block stroker?

I have been looking at strokers and i can tell some differences, but im no engine mechanic! Has anyone had experiences with accurate power, jakes racing, hesco? I'm looking for some personal experiences with these companies from build techniques, warranties, follow up service, etc. Which company would you "Qualified" gear heads out there trust to build your 4.6 long block stroker?

Hesco have been building strokers for longer than the others so they're very good at it, but unfortunately they're very very pricey.
JRE have a very good reputation as far as engine building goes but they're new to Jeep strokers so build quality is still unknown. Cheaper than Hesco and they use quality components, but longblock stroker still expensive at $4600.
Stay away from Accurate Power's longblock strokers. I know of at least two that went belly up after just 12k miles and AP don't warranty them either. If you're unlucky enough to get a dud, kiss goodbye to $4600.
Golen's Engine Service and Custom Design Performance offer 4.6L stroker longblocks for $3300 that come with a limited warranty. If you don't want to build your own stroker engine, either of these may be the way to go.

Any competent machine shop can build you a long block. You just give them the crank, rods, and block. Then have them tell you how much they are going to have to bore it. You can then either have them order the pistons and rings, or get them yourself. You need to tell them how much to deck the block as well.