• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Anyone recommend a place to get new rear springs for my '96 Cherokee?

Redsnake

NAXJA Forum User
Ok... I'm a bit of a newbie to Cherokees, but I notice that my rear leafs are sagging a bit and I'd really like to change them out (and a new front set to match). I'd like to keep it as close to stock as possible as I don't want to replace the shocks again.

I figure anything w/Stock to 1" of lift is good for me and I'd like it to ride good going down the road.

Any suggestions?

Late model wreck is by far the least expensive. JC Whitnet sells stock springs for XJs.

Let's back up a step, though. You "noticed" that your springs are sagging "a bit"? How do you know they are sagging? If you are basing this just on the fact that they are slightly 'S' shaped, that's the way they are designed. The only way to know if they are sagging is to measure. The reference points are from the center of the wheel cap (axle centerline) straight up to the bottom edge of the flare lip. The stock dimensions are 17.5" for the front, and 17.0" for the rear.

How about Old Man Emu? They mention about 1.5-2" of increase though, but they do ride great. Other than going w/ stock ones perhaps you have a local shop that makes springs. I'm sure you'll get far more replys that give you more information, but its a start.

http://www.arbusa.com

Re: Anyone recommend a place to get new rear springs for my '00 Cherokee?

I'll drag this thread up so I don't start a new one. My wife's 2000 cherokee rear is sagging (lower) after many soccer matches and hauling the kids. She does not want a lift, I've got 8-inches in mine. What are the options for good riding rear leafs out there? Thanks,

Eagle said:
Late model wreck is by far the least expensive. JC Whitnet sells stock springs for XJs.