• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Another Subframe question

Jay3XJ+

NAXJA Forum User
Well first off let me say I am new to NAXJA but i enjoy reading and reading and reading the post. I have read just about everything I can both here and over at PBB about reenforcing the subframe on an XJ. I have been wondering about not reenforing but rather replacing it and not in the manner of just setting the whole XJ frame rails and all on top of a existing factory frame. I am thinking more, albeit not the most practical. of making the XJ no longer a Unibody. This as I could see it could be done in in a couple ways. The first would be a tube buggy and the second would be a more traditonal ladder frame with a cage. What ever happens I would like to retain the basic lines of functionality of the XJ body. Im leaning more toward the ladder style frame.
I know there are pros and cons to doing what i am thining about but id like to see what yall think, if any have done and if there are any pics. I like the idea of having a rolling chasis that can take what ever mod I toss at it later.

I have a 90 Xj that is no longer a DD so im not worried being able to drive it nor am I in a big hurry I just like building crap.
The end goal is a very capable rig with 37s. I am caught in that I want a buggy but like the look and practicallity of an XJ.

Im pretty thick skinned so laugh and tel, me I am crazy if you want.

yeah it can be done. you might have problems with the xj body trying to fold downa nd around the fram. so basicly you want to cut off the frame rails and set what is left ona nother frame like a blazer or bronco??

Bentonedge said: