• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Just ordered a RE 5.5 LA did I make a mistake

wannabe

NAXJA Forum User
I just placed my order to the new RE LA Xtreme duty 5.5" kit. I am new to the "sport" and because of this and more technical reasons others on this forum have said not to run this lift. My intention with buying the kit was to run it with spacers and 33's for now with no fenders mods yet and 35's in the future with fenders mods. I was also thinking that since i have the money now and who knows about later that it would be best to go out and purchase a lift that will perform for a long time. Even if it out drives me which I am fine with because it wont cost me another grand or two in the future to upgrade to a similar lift and it gives me that much more to learn. I need some specific opinions. My xj is a 99 that is my DD but wont be sometime at the end of next summer and I only drive 10 minutes to work and back everyday with little highway driving on days off.

I put the RE 5.5" shortarm kit on my DD MJ, with fender trimming and 35s. It was my first lift and I'm still new to wheeling.
I think that it was a mistake to go that big in the beginning. Yeah, it saved some money, but it was expensive anyway. Lift, close to $1200, and it didn't even have rear springs (I did a springover in the rear with stock leaves). For the longarm and new leaves, well, you know how much more it's going to cost you. Wheels and tires, another what, $1200 or so. When you have big tires, hell, over 31s or so, you really need to regear. Gears for both ends, labor, at least $1000. Well, don't forget to get at least a rear axle that will hold up. D44? $400 or so. I was lucky, with a longbed MJ I had a 48" driveshaft. You don't. You'll likely need an SYE. $200?